Chapter 8- Victor

BISMILLAHIR RAHMAANIR RAHEEM

JazakAllah for your patience,extra posts to compensate for the delay inshaAllah.

Qaala RasulALLAH SAW – Bada Al-Islamu ghariban Wa sa ya-‘udhu ghariban kama bada`aa
Fa tooba lil ghuraba (rawaahu Muslim)
Rasul ALLAH SAW said; Certainly, Islam began as something strange (in the eyes of people). And it will return to being strange just as it began. So glad tidings for the ‘strangers’

7th October 2001 , America, California.

Alex sauntered into the lounge, not meeting my eye. “Hey Victor Dad is calling you for lunch.” I noticed he dropped the Uncle part before my name. American culture is sadly one that has repeatedly shredded apart any respect and honour for those senior to one.

Nabi SAW said something to the effect- He is not from amongst us, whoever does not show mercy to our little ones and does not respect our elders.

Alex’s Dad was glued to the TV. TV-That thief of moral values and family time. “They announced earlier that the president is going to make an important announcement, just in time Vic.”
I was incredulous. “Now you refer to him as president? Not even a month back you called Bush the dumbest man ever in the White House?” Rightly so too.
Alex’s Dad; “Well, you got to look at how firmly he’s leading our country in such troubled times, he really stepped up to the plate.”
I just snorted and glanced over at the TV. And there it was. The clue I had been waiting for.”Oh my word look at that! I knew it! There is no way these guys are not behind it! Just look!”

Alex thought I lost my marbles. “ Look at what? That’s just the president? We seen him plenty of times.”
“But look at what’s behind him.” I pointed.
“Oh my, that’s weird!” Alex agreed. Okay at least now I knew there was hope for Alex. He wasn’t one of the brainwashed sheeple. Sheeple? People whose minds are of sheep mentality,they follow the trend and go in any direction they are shooed in. Zane was another story.Sigh.

Speaking of Zane, his sister Nadia and his Grandmother(Dadi) were in another verbal tug of war while we were watching Bush make his po faced announcement.

Nadia turned her back on her granny, furiously snapping on her gum. “ Whats the big deal if I go out alone with my friends Grandma? You’re weird,like seriously.”
“ You’re only 11! How can girls go alone? It’s not safe and it’s not right Nadia beti.” Dadi pleaded. “Chill please, mum and dad let me go out all the time and there’s sweet nothing you can do about it.” Nadia shot back defiantly
“I hate to think whats going to happen to you, I should have never allowed your father to come to this country alone, it was the biggest mistake of my life.”
“yeah well you wanted to live nicely while he worked like a dog here to support you and your 100 relatives in the Motherland!”

“Is this how you talk to your elders?? And don’t pretend to have concern for your father, you have no respect for him at all, how can you keep telling your own parents I hate you,I hate you? All your friends talk that way too, do you want your children to talk to you Nadia and to slam the door in their face everytime they tell you something you don’t like?”
“I’m never having kids ,eugh, how annoying.”

“Exactly, think why it’s annoying, when they have no deen and no values of course they will be annoying.”
Nadia held up her hands. “Time out please!”
Dadi quickly acquiesced. “ Ok, ok, will you not come with me to pray?” Dadi said with heart slowly blooming with hope.
Nadia was unsure. “err next time maybe, I think Zane is calling me.” And she bolted from the room to her brother’s room.

“Nadia! How many times I told you not to barge into my room moron” Zane shouted at his kid sister who couldn’t be bothered.
“When is the old hag going back?”

Zane; “Next month apparently, Dad told me to drop you off at Kate’s house, come on lets go, I’m just going to pick up a few things from the grocery store for him, he said if I don’t run errands, he won’t give me an allowance, gosh these old folks are such a drag.”

S17:A23Your Lord has decreed that you worship nothing but Him, and that you be kind to parents. Whether one or both of them attain old age in your life, say not to them a word for contempt, nor repel them but address them in terms of honor. And, out of kindness, lower to them wing of humility, and say: My Lord! Bestow on them Your mercy, even as they cherised me in childhood.

Later that day at the local hardware store….

Zane; “Excuse me, where do you store nails and methane?”
Owner; “I’ll show you”
Zane; “Thanks I see it.” Why is this guy following me everywhere?
Owner; “So what do you want to make?”
Zane; Nothing, it’s for my dad, he’s fixing things up around the house
Owner; “Oh really? Are you sure? you know,I’m not too sure I want you buying any of this from my store.”
Zane; “What! Explain that please!”
“well you look arab or muzlim or whatever and we know what you guys are capable of.” The guy looked calmly at Zane as if stating a fact.
Zane who was sheltered and didn’t give a damn about anything that personally didn’t affect him, was incesnsed. “WHAT!! I cannot for the life of me, believe this! I am not even into practising Islam, I am so against terror and murder, I’m proudly American!”
“But you’re still a Muzlim. Out of my shop! Out!”
Surah2:A118 their malice has become evident from what they say; and what they conceal in their hearts is far worse. We have made Our revelations plain to you, if you do want to comprehend.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 8- Victor

  1. Slms sorry but if u people cant run a blog then dont start one and dont waste our time,its very anoying when u start a blog and dont post for weeks,

  2. Assalamu Alaikum

    To the poster ‘Sumi’

    I also happen to go as Sumi, but that is besides the point 🙂

    I have read a post dated 13 January 2015, titled ‘In a split second,’ where the writer has explained her circumstances. Make special Duaa for complete Shifaa for the writer.

Leave a Reply

